Commonwealth Games - FAQS

How many Countries took part in Melbourne's
2006 Commonwealth games?

Seventy-one Nations took part, they included:

Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, Australia, Bahamas, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belize, Bermuda, Botswana, British Virgin Islands, Brunei, Cameroon, Canada, Cayman Islands, Cook Islands, Cyprus, Dominica, England, Falkland Islands, Fiji, Ghana, Gibraltar, Grenada, Guernsey, Guyana, India, Isle of Man, Jamaica, Jersey, Kenya, Kiribati, Lesotho, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Malta, Mauritius, Montserrat, Mozambique, Namibia, Nauru, New Zealand, Nigeria, Niue, Norfolk Island, Northern Ireland, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Scotland, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Solomon Islands, South Africa, Sri Lanka, St Helena, St Kitts and Nevis, St Lucia, St Vincent and The Grenadines, Swaziland, Tanzania, The Gambia, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Turks and Caicos Islands, Tuvalu, Uganda, Vanuatu, Wales and Zambia.

Where were the first Commonwealth Games games held?

The first Commonwealth Games was held in Hamilton, Ontario, Canada in 1930. A total of 400 athletes attended. Countries that competed included Australia, Bermuda, British Guiana (now Guyana), Canada, Great Britain, Ireland, Newfoundland (now part of Canada), New Zealand, South Africa, Scotland and Wales. Since then, the Games have been conducted every four years except during World War 2 (1942 and 1946)

How many people take part in the Commonwealth Games?

Almost 6000 athletes and officials representing 71 countries and territories took part in the 2002 Games in Manchester. This was the biggest sporting event ever staged in the United Kingdom.

Has the Commonwealth Games always had the same name?

From 1930 to 1950 the Games were known as the British Empire Games, then the British Empire and Commonwealth Games until 1962. From 1966 to 1974 they took on the title of British Commonwealth Games and from 1978 onwards they have been known as simply the Commonwealth Games.

Do the Athletes have to take an oath?

An Oath is taken on behalf of all the competitors at the Opening Ceremony of each Games. The oath is:

"We declare that we will take part in the Commonwealth Games of 20.. in the spirit of true sportsmanship, recognising the rules which govern them and desirous of participating in them for the honour of our Commonwealth and for the glory of sport."

Who are the oldest and youngest Australian Gold Medallists?

Australia’s oldest gold medallist is Dorothy Roache, who was 61 years and 10 months when she won a gold medal in the Women’s Four Lawn Bowls in Auckland in 1990. The youngest is Jenny Turrell, who was 13 years and eight months when she won the 400m freestyle in Christchurch in 1974.


back to top


|  Home  |  About us  |  Site map  |  Help  |  Disclaimer